PUP-COC awards notable alumni during homecoming

By: Hemmady S. Mora

PUP-COC Grand Alumni Homecoming last July 26 at Novotel, Cubao

The Polytechnic University of the Philippines College of Communication celebrated its 18th year foundation anniversary  commemorating the 40th year of the Mass Communication program in a Grand Alumni Homecoming titled “MASSCOM40BLE, ”   held last July 26, at Novotel, Cubao, Quezon City.

Awards were given to nine notable alumni who shared their experiences as they journeyed from college to where they are now.

The Notable Alumni Award for Film and Television Entertainment was given to Bayani Rogacion Jr., known for his most popular hit “Otso-otso” in 2004. He has received several awards for his works including KBP Golden Dove Award as Best Comedy Actor for three consecutive years.

The Notable Alumni Award for Radio Entertainment went to John Gemperle, known as DJ “Papa Jackson.”  He has received multiple awards in recognition of his work in the field of radio broadcasting.

Carlo Marcos Mateo received the Notable Alumni Award for Radio News and Public Affairs as he was also awarded as Hall of Famer Outstanding Radio Field Reporter by the Volunteers Against Crime and Corruption given at the Malacanang Palace.

The Notable Alumni Award for Broadcast Journalism was given to Steve Dailisan who started as researcher and segment producer in GMA News and Public Affairs before receiving his break as news anchor, news producer and senior correspondent. Recently, he has earned his license as a private and commercial pilot.

Vic Del Leon Lima was given the Notable Alumni Award for Radio News and Commentary for his perseverance and admirable work ethics as a reporter that led him to become an anchor of various programs in DZMM which also won national awards and recognition.

The Notable Alumni Award in Television Production went to Annaliza Goma who was the executive producer of “Okat Tokat” and “Labs Ko Si Babe,” supervising producer of “Sana’y Wala Nang Wakas”, “It Might Be You, ” and   production manager of shows such as “Panday,” “Lobo,” and “Apoy Sa Dagat,” “Pasion De Amor.” Currently, she is the Chief Operating Officer of the talent management and events company, “Powerhouse Arte Inc.”

Christopher Guarin was awarded the Notable Alumni in Marketing Communication for pioneering one of the fastest growing food brands with Varda Foods Communication.  From a  small burger shop in PUP, Varda now has 34 stores in top universities and malls in Metro Manila in just more than a year.

Meanwhile, Joven Tan was given the Notable Alumni Award in Music for his accomplishments as music composer.  In 2013, his composition “Anong Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa” interpreted by Aiza Seguerra was recognized as grand champion at the ABS-CBN Himig-Handog. He is now a Star Music resident composer while also serving as a film director and book author.

Last but not least, the Notable Alumni Award for Visual Arts went to Jophel Ybiosa who was an eight-time Ani ng Dangal awardee of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts. Apart from other local and international awards he received for his works, he is also a master photographer and platinum artist at Princess Cruise Lines.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here