Home Entertainment PH talents perform for the 30th SEA Games opening

PH talents perform for the 30th SEA Games opening


TAGUIG CITY, Nov. 29 — Athletes, guests, and spectators attending the 30th Southeast Asian (SEA) Games Opening Ceremony on November 30 (Saturday) will be treated to a display of world-class technology-driven and spectacular show that will showcase the best of Filipino performers.    

The Philippines has tapped the award-winning Five Currents consortium to produce the Opening Ceremony of the 2019 biennial meet. 

The Los Angeles-based live content creators is known for its extensive experience in Olympic and Asian Games ceremonies and events producing the Olympic ceremonies from London (2012 Olympics) to Sochi (2014 Winter Olympics) and regional games ceremonies from Jakarta (2018 Asian Games) to Baku (2015 European Games), among others, including national anniversaries and iconic New Year’s Eve celebrations, reaching a total of 20 billion people worldwide.  

Additionally, it has achieved numerous industry accolades, including 14 Emmy Awards (and 29 nominations) and 60 Telly Awards.

In collaboration with select Filipino talents both behind and on stage, the consortium organized the creatives and technical aspects of the production, including the execution of the design and fabrication of all key elements and visuals, which will make the Opening Ceremony a unique digital masterpiece.

The Opening Ceremony will feature a parade of athletes, lighting of cauldron, and performances from high-caliber Pinoy talents.

Asia’s Nightingale Lani Misalucha will lead the singing of the Philippine National Anthem, which will be followed by a four-part production, complete with song and dance numbers to be performed by celebrated Filipino artists. 

Dancers from the Ramon Obusan Folkloric Group as well as student performers from different colleges and universities across the country will entertain the crowd through a variety of dances choreographed by Huling El Bimbo director Dexter Santos and veteran dancer Cherry Villanueva.

Musical artists Christian Bautista, Aicelle Santos, Jed Madela, Elmo Magalona, KZ Tandingan, Iñigo Pascual, The TNT Boys, Ana Fegi, Robert Seña, and Apl.de.ap. will also perform a medley of songs, including the 2019 SEA Games theme song, “We Win as One.” Musical arrangers Nikko Rivera and Jimmy Antiporda partnered with music producer Eloisa Matias in arranging this part of the production.

Behind the scenes, veteran playwright Floy Quintos and National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab will take the lead.

The show will be aired at 7 PM through its broadcast partner ABS-CBN. (PHISGOC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -


Remembering SAF 44

Philippine National Police We proudly salute the gallant SAF 44, our modern-day heroes #SAF44 #PNPKakampiMo

Manila gov’t to distribute face masks amid coronavirus scare

By Ma. Teresa Montemayor   MANILA -- Manila City Mayor Francisco "Isko Moreno" Domagoso on Thursday said the local government will distribute 100,000 face masks to the...

PRRD can still function effectively as President: Panelo

By Ruth Abbey Gita-Carlos   MANILA -- President Rodrigo Duterte, despite his age and health problems, can still “effectively” fulfill his mandate to serve and protect the...

CAB suspends PH-Wuhan flights indefinitely

By Ma. Cristina Arayata   MANILA -- The Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB) on Thursday announced the indefinite suspension of flights between central China’s city of Wuhan and...

Filipino Bags First Prize in 2020 Year of ASEAN Identity Logo Design Competition

JAKARTA 23 January 2020 — A Filipino graphic artist from Lipa, Batangas, Joemari Manguiat, was awarded the first prize in the 2020 Year of...